Obama’s “Christian by Choice”


Recently President Obama made public comments about his faith in response to a question.  Yet, the response shows very limited understanding of essential Christianity and rather points to the same sort of “eternal principles” that echoed throughout Glen Beck’s speech.  He really points to “finding our own” grace, loving others, and finding humility. None of which serve as what is essential to Christianity, which is the true humility of turning to self from God.  Rather it takes the sacrifice of Jesus, trivializes it, and includes in among many paths. So here, President Obama has chosen the “Christian Ethos” from many paths.  Yet his words indicate he is far from Jesus. He is about  the “Imago Dei,” the seeing God in other people and encouraging others to “find their grace.”  The ONLY place grace if found in Jesus. And one can only truly see God in another when they indwelt with the Holy Spirit. Anything else is a twisted, distorted image that has not been straightened. Read the words for your self, let me know what you think.

“I’m a Christian by choice,My family, frankly, they weren’t folks who went to church every week. My mother was one of the most spiritual people I knew but she didn’t raise me in the church, so I came to my Christian faith later in life and it was because the precepts of Jesus Christ spoke to me in terms of the kind of life that I would want to lead. Being my brothers and sisters’ keeper, treating others as they would treat me, and I think also understanding that Jesus Christ dying for my sins spoke to the humility we all have to have as human beings, that we’re sinful and we’re flawed and we make mistakes and we achieve salvation through the grace of God.”

 “But what we can do, as flawed as we are, is still see God in other people, and do our best to help them find their own grace. That’s what I strive to do, that’s what I pray to do every day.’’ Yet he said that as president, he also “deeply believes that part of the bedrock strength of this country is that it embraces people of many faiths and of no faith.’’

“I’m also somebody who deeply believes that part of the bedrock strength of this country is that it embraces people of many faiths and of no faith,”  “This is a country that is still predominantly Christian. But we have Jews, Muslims, Hindus, atheists, agnostics, Buddhists and that their own path to grace is one that we have to revere and respect as much as our own.”

2 Responses

  1. I agree with your comments. It seems that Obama and
    Glen Beck are on the same page, more in agreement on
    this than either would admit. Both in need of TLC
    (The Love of Christ). Heavenly Father have mercy
    on both of them.

  2. Hey Tim!!!!

    Long time no talk!!! Course I stopped using facebook, due to personal reasons, people were not being very nice and I wanted to delete most of my friends, but I don’t want to alienate them, so I just deactivated my account, and I do not forsee myself getting it back anytime soon or ever.

    At any rate, missed talking to you!!!

    I was not aware of Glen Beck’s views on Christianity, but if they are like Obama’s then they are in error. 😦

    Anyway, I found almost everything Obama said in the first paragraph fine, but everything after that went downhill in to embracing all faiths as equally right, though he said it in a VERY PC way “everyone’s own path to grace?” Give me a break! lol Seriously.

    I mean God gives us free will and I heartily agree that everyone has a right to choose their own religion, but this, for lack of better words, also means they have a right to choose hell. 😦 Which if they don’t choose Jesus, they are not choosing grace, they are choosing hell. Sorry Obama, you can be as PC as you want, but you are still wrong, and everything else you believe could be all right, but that one element, as your foundation says you are mostly likely not of the Christian faith. When you are its impossible to be PC about it. lol

    Just some of my thoughts on it anyway. :p

    God Bless ~Amy

Leave a Reply

