Musings Final day #AACC conference: Engaging in Forward Movement


Today was a day where much was stirred with in me. The teachings and God’s work within my pointed to ensuring in being engaged in forward movement.  The day started of by attending the presentation of the founder of POD AACC publisher Servant One press.  This stirred up thoughts laid in childhood that some day may write a book.  Publish on Demand is a risky venture but if God is leading, there is need to follow through and engage in walking in God’s direction.

Honestly, the morning resulted in some distractions as my mind kept going to what is ahead and sorting out steps to take.  Yet, God made clear the principle of needing to walk forward in the path he sets before me.  There are steps to take to move ahead with what God has set before me, and lingering can lead to stagnation. The question is really, am I ready to do what God wants. I have had movements of lingering. Starting the blog is one such area. Yet, to move forward, there can be no lingering, as doing so does not put me where God would have me to be.

The other thought that was clear was that it is easy to be distracted. This was first evident in my being distracted during part of the time making it difficult to attend. It was reinforced by the luncheon speaker, Dr. Archibald Hart, who talked of the dangers and distractions of the day and age we are living in.  A point that struck home is that “multitasking results in 30% effectiveness.”  My brain often has many thoughts and ideas going at once. On the forum it and even this blog it has lead to varied starts ands stops of varied subject without carrying the discussion to the full conclusion.  Perhaps thoughts have reached a resolved state in my own mind, but the distractedness of the multi-threaded conversation can well result in reduced efficacy and clarity of communication.

Moving from the focus on me, there was also the reminder of the need to continually be engaging others in moving forward, becoming unstuck, being challenged.  In facilitating growth and balance there is a level of balancing listening and joining with challenging the forward growth.  This also involves adjusting and adapting to their timing as well. 

Finally, there is no true forward movement and growth without God. He is and has to be the core of all I do in helping others and moving forward in directions God leads.  That  of my self will falter and burn.  What is of him will become more clear.  Discernment is needed even in my own life to sort out which is which.

Ultimately, today was an unsettled feeling.  At the end of the conference, I stood there, watching listening, observing.  Knowing that the steps when I leave there needs to me more concerted engaging in forward movement.  God’s best for now and for those He brings my way, and to enable others to be brought my way or be touched by what God stirs within, it involves taking those steps.  So leaving was hard.  It is good to go home, but it is a hard thing. God made clear that he does not want me to sit comfortable. 

So, these are my thoughts about where God has me at the moment? Where are you?  Are you settled? Are you where God wants you to be?  Are there steps you need to take to move forward in your own life to follow the path God has before you? Are you standing still waiting for God to push you?  Now this, the journey and the steps are that of taking steps on the path with a curve you cannot see around.  The journey involves faith. God may request steps of great cost.  Perhaps it is change?  Perhaps you have already turned a corner and waiting on God.  The key is to be engaged in advancing, in moving forward.  For if we sleep, slumber and do not advance, the enemy of our souls most certainly will and will seek to kill, steal, and destroy.  So join me in being committed and intentional on engaging in forward movement.  The steps are not always easy, but God will see each of us through if we follow His commands.

Leave a Reply

