Mother’s day Musing


Today is a day our culture sets aside to honor Mother’s.  It is a day that we lift them up and express gratitude for how they have nurtured our lives.  It is also the day that we lift up the women in our life who are mothers or will be mothers some day.  So today I first want to thank and honor God for my mother, my mother-in-law, step mother, and wife.  These women are all a blessing in one way or another to me. 

My mother:  She is someone who displayed in my life God’s love and nurturing.  She always did what she could to build me and my brother up in the faith.  She stood in the gap in prayer for both of us many a time. She prayed for the women we would some day marry continually starting from birth.  She dedicated me to God before I was born.  My mother was the first to suggest I consider the field of psychology based on my ability to listen to others.   The man I am today, I am in large part because of the nurturing and love she shared. 

My mother-in-law:  This woman is a gift from God.  Her passion for God is clear.  Her coming into my life through my life was a true blessing that not many men experience.  She is there constantly for my wife, even when she is thousands of miles away.  She displays everyday what it is to walk with God.  It is a true blessing.

Step-mother: My dad’s wife Janie has been a woman who has uplifted both me and my wife. She has shown perseverance in trial. She has been an encouragement when times were tough.  She is someone who has become a clear blessing. She means a lot to me and my wife.  She is a true witness that God works all things together for the good. 

My wife:  She is a true blessing. Some day she will make a wonderful mother and will display God’s love and nurture. In the meantime we grow and struggle and love each other. We continue to grow and prepare for what God has ahead. She is a woman of great depth of passion and cares deeply to the point where others pain and struggles impact  her. 

So I thank God for these examples of his intent when he created women.  Wifes and mothers teach aspects of God’s nature and love and it is true for these women in my life. So today I hold them up in high honor and express thanks to the author of love and pray that God builds them up and works through them even more to reflect that love.

Leave a Reply

