Musings on a day of low ebb plus Todd Agnew video selection: Joy Unspeakable


We all have days when energy levels sag.  We have a list of things want to do or need to do, but really are not in the place to do them.  This evening is such a time for me.  Often when have gotten to this point with blogging it results in several days of no posts.  Trying to be more intentional and regular with  posting, so writing this in spite the lack of any true juices flowing.  No reason for the sudden dip, have been in a good place spiritually.  Been active with the ongoing monitoring of Haiti.  Yet, today is a day of lower energy and motivation for me.  Now I have the luxury of pulling back and resting or taking time to self.  There are others elsewhere who do not have this luxury.  The people Haiti serving God and others are an example. They are in crisis, moving from one task to another.  One situation to another.  They are living in a crisis mode with continued adrenaline and cortisone spikes and very little rest. 

We all have ebbs and flows.  We have moments of higher energy, moments of lower energy.  God created us with body rhythms. He knows we need rest and has instructed us to take time to seek striving and focusing on God.   The thing is, when at a low ebb my tendency has been to simply pull back, do relaxing things which usually involve the “entertainments” of the world and disengage.  This means things get set aside.   It is these times as well that even time with God gets set aside rather than be something to turn to for strength.  In writing this, it really goes to show how little understanding I have regarding finding strength in the Joy of the Lord.  My own strength is limited and varies upon natural ebbs and flows.  Yet, God’s strength and joy is unlimited.  So personally still have a lot to learn.  In the  mean time, it is an act of self-discipline to take time to write and more importantly take time to spend time with God.  Perhaps even a prayer at this time is “Lord, I am at end of strength and motivation today. Give me your strength, lead me in what you want me to say.  Give me the energy today to do what you want me to do. 

Now perhaps for me and others, the focus and prayers on Haiti and encouraging and ministering to the Livesays and others who are actively involved in a situation that is traumatic and high stressed.  Perhaps there are spiritual elements seeking to distract and take mind off of praying and building up others in relation to ministering in Haiti or elsewhere.  Only God knows.

When I started writing this post, felt led to find a song that is energizing and focused on the Joy of the Lord.  The song drawn to is Joy Unspeakable by Tod Agnew.  The video chosen is one where Todd shared from his life and perspective as well as signing the song.  Hope you find the video uplifhting and drawing focus on praising God and resting in His joy.

Joy Unspeakable by Todd Agnew [Christian Single Release 2009]
Genre/Lang. : Christian
I’ve found His grace is all complete.
He supplies my every need, mm…mm…
While I sit and learn at Jesus’ feet,
I am free…indeed.
What kind of joy is this?

It’s joy unspeakable…
all You’ve done for me.
It’s indescribable…
just a taste of Your glory.
And it’s unnatural…
not to tell the story
of all You’ve given me.
My words are incomplete.
It’s joy unspeakable.

I’ve found the pleasure I once craved.
It’s joy and peace within….within.
What a wondrous blessing, I am saved
from the awful gulf of sin.

It’s joy unspeakable…
all You’ve done for me.
It’s indescribable…
just a taste of Your glory.
And it’s unnatural…
not to tell the story
of all You’ve given me.
My words are incomplete.
It’s joy unspeakable.

I’ve found the joy no tongue can tell.
How its waves of glory roll!
It’s like an overflowing well…
springing up within my soul.

It’s joy unspeakable…
all You’ve done for me.
It’s indescribable…
just a taste of Your glory.
And it’s unnatural…
not to tell the story
of all You’ve given me.
My words are incomplete.
It’s joy unspeakable.

It’s joy unspeakable…
joy unspeakable…
What kind of joy is this!?

Leave a Reply

