Video Selections: Christmas Shoes by Newsong


Just recently learned of Newsong’s Christmas Shoes song.  The song was released on the Album: Sheltering Tree in 200 and reportedly influenced by a story that had been circulating on the internet.  In 2002 CBS made the story into a movie and Donna VanLeire wrote a novel based on the story. The story has touched many over the years. It is not really known if the story is real or fictional.  Yet, whether the story is simply parable or really occurred, the message is still powerful.

It is interesting that I had not really run across this video or the song before, but have this year.  This year my brother, his wife, and child are having a difficult time as the mother of my brother’s wife is dying and is due to die any day now.  The contents of the song also seem related to the giving challenge God led me to issue. The challenge was to give in such a way to build up others, reflecting God’s love.  So please take time to watch this video and pass it on to others. Maybe you have seen or heard the song before. Maybe you saw the movie or read the book. Maybe you received the initial internet story.  Maybe like me this is the first you are aware of the story.  Regardless, take time to watch the video and let God speak to you.

The words/story:

It is almost Christmas time, there I stood in another line tryin’ to buy that last gift or two not really in the Christmas mood. Standing right in front of me, was a little boy waiting anxiously pacing round like little boys do. And in his hand he held a pair of shoes. His clothes were worn and old, he was dirty from head to toe and when it came his time to pay I couldn’t believe what I heard him say
“Sir, I want to by these shoes, for my mama, please it’s Christmas Eve and these shoes are just her size. Could you hurry, sir Daddy said there’s not much time you see Moma’s been sick for quite awhile and I know these shoes would make her smile and I want her to look beautiful, If Mamma meets Jesus tonight”
He counted pennies for what seemed like years. Then the cashier said, “son, there’s not enough here.” He searched his pockets frantically then he turned and he looked at me. He said, “Mama always made Christmas good at our house through most years she did without. Tell me sir what am I going to do somehow I’ve got to buy these Christmas shoes.” I just had to help him out, and as I laid the money down I never forgot the look on his face when he said, “Mama’s gonna look so great”
I knew I’d caught a glimpse of heaven’s love as he thanked me and ran out. I know that God had sent that little boy my way to remind me just what Christmas is all about.

 

FYI: The CBS movie can be viewed online here: http://stagevu.com/video/oieyukxibwhp.  You will need to download the DIVX movie player to view it tough.

Leave a Reply

