We all need to get ready!


My first blog post talked about how I finally got to the point of doing something God has been asking of me for some time.  Exposure to Lakeland and the subsequent discernment of it’s falsehood played on role. In terms of my waking up and reprioritizing my focus to move in surrender to Jesus, there was another aspect that really encouraged me to refocus. 

During searching out truth and researching Mr. Bentley I ran across some post and threads detailing varied prophecies, in particular about the United States. I had reasons to distrust what I read but really had no real discernment regarding what is true and what is false.  Mainly because to be assured of false prophecy, what they prophesy doesn’t come to pass. 

            Well, I read a lot of stuff prophesying impending disaster in the United States, including an old prophecy in the 1950’s from a old woman in the Netherlands. Granted, I have a tendency to be curious and a sin pattern of “wanting to know.” So I read varied accounts out there.  I noted that while some varied prediction’s were consistent, it was not consistently consistent. There were always things the same and things different.  However, if anything those prophecies said were true, times can be getting difficult. It is a sobering thought to even consider what would happen if the world as we know it changed. If as several suggested,  sudden collapse and catastrophe came to the whole nation.  Very sobering thoughts.

I prayed about this information I had come across and essentially God directed me to “Get ready, and be prepared.” We need to be treating each day and season if it be the last.  We need to stay sober and alert and seek God. An important Biblical passage regarding this is Matthew 24:32-51 which describes how things will be on the Lords return and the importance of keeping watch and being ready. The central verse of this passage for me is Matthew 24:42 (NIV) “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come.” 

Getting ready and keeping watch has nothing to do with the veracity of professed prophecies, but more to do with the state we should be in continually.  I need to be continually seeking first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, versus my own.  I needed to be surrendered to him and not just trying to keep self entertained and simply surviving. 

            Does this mean I go seeking after “knowledge” or “prophesies?” By no means!  I believe anytime we seek after anything other then surrender to Christ we are opening ourselves up to deception. End time prophecies and predictions have come and gone.  Words once spoken are reinterpreted.  Always though, God’s Word stand. We all understand in part. We are all to do as says in Proverbs 3:5, 6(NIV): “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.  This again involves submission, setting ourselves aside. 

            We are to treat any prophecy seriously and soberly.  As it states in 1 Thessalonians 5:19-22(NIV): “19 Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; 20 do not treat prophecies with contempt. 21 Test everything. Hold on to the good. 22 Avoid every kind of evil.”  This passage essentially directs us to test everything, keep to what is good, avoid all evil.  So we need to listen, watch, observe and above all test.  Keep the good, throw out the bad. This should be our attitude and actions. 

            So regarding the times we are in and what happens.  We need to be ready, be on the watch.  Look for what the Lord of Lords is doing but above all seek to trust in the Lord with all our hearts.  Whether calamity or judgment comes tomorrow, ten years from now, or a hundred years from now, we need to be alert.  We need to keep to the steps God directs all the while watching, praying, and attending to the direction God leads, all the time testing to be assured we are following His path and His kingdom and not our own or that of another.  So the question is are you ready?  I think the Larry Norman lyric’s are a good way to close this post.  Feel free to make any comments, ask questions, or challenge anything I say. 

I Wish We’d All Been Ready

By Larry Norman

 

Life was filled with guns and war,

And everyone got trampled on the floor,

I wish we’d all been ready

Children died, the days grew cold,

A piece of bread could buy a bag of gold,

I wish we’d all been ready,

There’s no time to change your mind,

The Son has come and you’ve been left behind.

 

A man and wife asleep in bed,

She hears a noise and turns her head, he’s gone,

I wish we’d all be ready,

Two men walking up a hill,

One disappears and one’s left standing still,

I wish we’d all been ready,

There’s no time to change your mind,

The Son has come and you’ve been left behind.

 

Life was filled with guns and war,

And everyone got trampled on the floor,

I wish we’d all been ready,

Children died, the days grew cold,

A piece of bread could buy a bag of gold,

I wish we’d all been ready,

There’s no time to change your mind,

How could you have been so blind,

The Father spoke, the demons dined,

The Son has come and you’ve been left behind.

Leave a Reply

