Daniel Amos The “¡Alarma!”Chronicles prophetic?


I just want to recommend to any and all that have ever listened to Daniel Amos 4 CD collection  The “¡Alarma!”Chronicles to dust them off and relisten.  In particular the first album,¡Alarma!” seems to be very appropriate in addressing current events down in Lakeland, Florida.  Granted, I have read that Terry Scott Taylor wrote the first two albums with the “Name it and claim it” type of pastors in mind.  Given those pastors are roots of Word of Faith which is part of the roots of Lakeland, the words clearly still fit.

I am going to post the lyrics to four songs from the album. If you want to read over the rest of the lyrics I would recommend going over to www.danielamos.com where the entire catalog’s lyrics are available.  I also would enjoy thoughts about anyone else seeing or sensing anything prophetic in the The “¡Alarma!”Chronicles.  I certainly intened to reread the Novella produce along with it.  I believe the 4 installments are also available on the Daniel Amos website.  Do yourself a favor and check it out. 

Here are some songs lyrics in think are appropriate to Lakeland and other matters:

¡Alarma!from the album “¡Alarma!”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor
©1981 Paragon Music Corp./ASCAP

It’s a brain drain laid down on the reel to reel
The warning of the after life the after birth
And telling how we feel

Alarma, somebody’s crying
Alarma, somebody’s dying
Alarma, somebody’s turning away

Sugar cane in cellophane is playing at the radio station
Laughs out in the gallery believing that it’s all elation

Alarma, somebody’s pleading
Alarma, somebody’s bleeding
Alarma, somebody’s turning away

A wise guy in the sky invites you to a guilty party
Won’t charge you at the door
But sure knows how to get your money

Alarma, he’s pointing a finger
Alarma, he’s such a dead ringer
Alarma, somebody’s turning away
Somebody’s turning away, somebody’s turning away
Alarma, somebody’s turning away
Alarma, somebody’s turning away
Alarma, somebody’s turning away

 

Big Time / Big Deal from the album “¡Alarma!”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor
©1981 Paragon Music Corp./ASCAP

Beam it on the satellite, send it through the T.V.
Get it on the play list, preach it to the masses

I want the big time, it’s not for everyone
I want the long line, to tell them what I’ve done
Give me a bullhorn, I’ll help Your kingdom come
I get all this, and heaven when I’m done

Why stop with the little things, wires cross the continents
The moment of conversion, on the cover of my album

I want the big time, it’s not for everyone
I want the long line, to tell them what I’ve done
Give me a bullhorn, I’ll help Your kingdom come
I get all this, and heaven when I’m done

Heard some talk about the big big big big big deal
Can’t wait, moving on, can’t wait, moving on
Lawyers talking ’bout the long long long long
long long long long contract
Five years, how long?, sign here, moving on

Send a tape to Carson, got a date in Vegas
Start a church in LA., billboard off the freeway

I want the big time, it’s not for everyone
I want the long line, to tell them what I’ve done
Give me a bullhorn, I’ll help Your kingdom come
I get all this, and heaven when I’m done
I want the big time, I want the long line
Give me a bullhorn, I get all this, and heaven when I’m done

 

 Cloak and Dagger from the album “¡Alarma!”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor and Jerry Chamberlain
©1981 Paragon Music Corp./ASCAP

 Disguising shadows are concealers
Of traitors spies and double dealers
In the street somebody staggers
Killed again with cloak and dagger

If somebody tells you that their love is true
Don’t believe it if they hold a gun to you
There’s cold war tactics hidden in a smiling face
A pretty kind of poison that will leave no trace

Disguising shadows are concealers
Of traitors spies and double dealers
In the street somebody staggers
Killed again with cloak and dagger

If somebody tells you ’bout the master plan
Don’t believe it if they got the bloody hands
Secret agents masked in plastic moulded smiles
Wolves that stalk the innocent and trusting child

Disguising shadows are concealers
Of traitors spies and double dealers
In the street somebody staggers
Killed again with cloak and dagger

 

 Endless Summer from the album “¡Alarma!”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor and Jerry Chamberlain
©1981 Paragon Music Corp./ASCAP

Surfer boys, surfer girls
And all those hoping to catch that ultimate wave
We were looking for an endless summer
We’re still looking for an endless summer
It’s no surprise will be looking endlessly

Surf and sand, eternal tan
We’ve paid the price in looking twice our age
We were looking for an endless summer
We’re still looking for an endless summer
It’s no surprise will be looking endlessly
And we had to get to surf city
But we’ll tell you man it’s just drag city
We won’t come back from dead man’s curve

 

Angels Tuck You In

from the album “Doppelgänger”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor
©1983 Twitchen Vibes/ Paragon Music Corp. ASCAP

You hold an image, it provides a common thread
No sense of menace, no feeling of dread
You never worry your pretty little head and
Angels tuck you in tonight
Angels tuck you in tonight
Angels tuck you in and greet you in the morning light

This cartoon world you’ve created, it’s like Disneyland
Get out you golden ticket
The one they give you when you’re born again
A guardian personage is watching over you
Nothing uncomfortable can ever get through
There is no suffering for the chosen few…

You’ve been a wide-eyed innocent
Come to the garden, come to the hill
Come to the tree, come to the kill
Won’t break your bones, but it can break your will
You’re too afraid of hurting
Been playing cover-up
Expose yourself to dying
And in this real world, it is your calling

You hold an image, it provides a common thread
No sense of menace, no feeling of dread
You never worry your pretty little head and
Angels tuck you in tonight
Angels tuck you in tonight
Angels tuck you in and greet you in the morning light

 

And this is what is really important. We need to attend to the true central theme:

Central Theme from the album “¡Alarma!”

Words and Music by Terry Taylor

©1981 Paragon Music Corp./ASCAP

 Central theme, the most important thing

Central theme, the tie that binds together

Central theme, every line is breathing

Central theme, another heart receiving

 

Shining in the center, my Lord in the center

Jesus in the center, revolving around Him

Always revolving around Him

 Solar screams, I am nothing

Vibrations under the rings, how great you are

Moon like a gong, how great you are

 

Central theme, the object of affection

Central theme, the core of our perfection

Central theme, moving upward in direction

Central theme, changing musical conceptions

Shining in the center, my Lord in the center

Jesus in the center, revolving around Him

Always revolving around Him

 

Infinite space, I am nothing

Infant moves in the womb, how great you are

Wind and sea, I am nothing

Ghost of the heart, how great you are

 

Solar screams, I am nothing

Vibrations under the rings, how great you are

Moon like a gong, how great you are

 

Who is on the throne you find, the King of Kings

He’s the one I have in mind, the central theme

Lord of Lords, Lord of lords, Lord of Lords…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. […] When I first started writing this blog there was a post about Lakeland and recent events entitled https://peacebringer7.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/daniel-amos-the-%c2%a1alarmachronicles-prophetic/.   The content of that 4 albumn series is still appropriate today.  Given the recent post […]

Leave a Reply

